[VN800] Changing handlebar switches to HD design - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By docx
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
[VN800] Changing handlebar switches to HD design

Hi.
Does anybody have experience with changing from stock Kawasaki handlebar switches to HD design like this:


I know that connectors are not original and there will be some adjustment on making some of that. Previous owner has done some very awfull work on switches and all electronics so there is mandatory change of it.

My question is will it work like on HD all four turn lights, other functions and will there be any problem if I buy whole housing like in picture above and put it on my Kawasaki Vulcan 800?

Thank you
docx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 11:35 AM
Member
BTK Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by docx View Post
Hi.

Does anybody have experience with changing from stock Kawasaki handlebar switches to HD design like this:





I know that connectors are not original and there will be some adjustment on making some of that. Previous owner has done some very awfull work on switches and all electronics so there is mandatory change of it.



My question is will it work like on HD all four turn lights, other functions and will there be any problem if I buy whole housing like in picture above and put it on my Kawasaki Vulcan 800?



Thank you


Anything is possible to change. Just got to take the time to wire it properly. Can't rush wiring like that. Other wise you will be right back where ya started or maybe even worse ya know


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bullcrapallday is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 11:36 AM
Member
BTK Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by docx View Post
Hi.

Does anybody have experience with changing from stock Kawasaki handlebar switches to HD design like this:





I know that connectors are not original and there will be some adjustment on making some of that. Previous owner has done some very awfull work on switches and all electronics so there is mandatory change of it.



My question is will it work like on HD all four turn lights, other functions and will there be any problem if I buy whole housing like in picture above and put it on my Kawasaki Vulcan 800?



Thank you


The only real difference from Harley to kawi is the turn signal. So you are going to have to split the harness and get the right turn signal wire and run it to the right from the left.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bullcrapallday is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullcrapallday View Post
The only real difference from Harley to kawi is the turn signal. So you are going to have to split the harness and get the right turn signal wire and run it to the right from the left.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That are great news. I'll keep you updated when they get to me.
Of course I'll have time for mount it and a lot of patience. It is awesome that ony difference is turn signal, maybe I'll even make it to have all four turn signals working at same time.
Thank you
bullcrapallday likes this.
docx is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-27-2017, 06:13 PM
Member
BTK Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by docx View Post
That are great news. I'll keep you updated when they get to me.

Of course I'll have time for mount it and a lot of patience. It is awesome that ony difference is turn signal, maybe I'll even make it to have all four turn signals working at same time.

Thank you


I have a friend on a vaquero that tried getting the new Harley controls work. But we couldn't figure out how to get the radio controls to work on it. So he went back to the factory ones


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bullcrapallday is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-27-2017, 06:14 PM
Member
BTK Beginner
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by docx View Post
That are great news. I'll keep you updated when they get to me.

Of course I'll have time for mount it and a lot of patience. It is awesome that ony difference is turn signal, maybe I'll even make it to have all four turn signals working at same time.

Thank you


Keep me posted on how it goes. And put some pics up once you get done and through the process. I just got done getting a daymaker headlight work on my 2012 voyager.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bullcrapallday is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome