tail light shorted and now bike won't start - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 05-31-2017, 10:30 PM Thread Starter

tail light shorted and now bike won't start

Hi there, I'm a newbie to the forum, so I'd like to say hi! I just picked up a '85 454 ltd bobber this summer and I'm having an electrical issue with it. The tail light recently fell off on a long ride (custom fender by previous owners weren't professionally done) and it cut the two wires. The two cut wires to the rear tail light touched the fender and I assume there was a short. Now the bike won't start/ ignition key turned no lights. So I started looking for a fuse box, didn't find one. Researched that the thing by my horn is a fuse box but the three fuses in there look fine. I need help with this I think. I pulled the seat off and the electricals looks really rewired (again maybe it was a amateur wire tuck). I looked at every item the wires lead to, there seems to be a:

turn signal operating unit
reserve lighting device
some sort of cylindrical relay
an igniter box
and some dead ends...

Nothing seems to be a fuse as I know it. I will update as soon as I get a voltmeter to try and discern more. Right now it's stranded at my friends so all I could do was snap these pictures

I have tried jump starting the bike - nothing happened, no power to ignition even

I read there is a main fuse that people recommend replacing, under the seat, but after removing the seat I can't seem to find anything! Does any of this make sense to those with some wiring experience? Thanks for your time if you read through all that!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 01:35 PM
BTK Expert

I would check the battery first to make certain it is good. I would also charge it with a good smart charger & do a load test. also, make sure the battery connections are good.