Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Vulcan 800 Leaking Gas

25K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  kawasakirocky 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, I am fairly new to owning a motorcycle, so I am looking for as much advice as I can get. Unfortunately, a week into owning it, I have developed a fairly substantial gas leak. It's so strong, that you can smell the gas as you walk up. The majority of it seems to be coming out of the exhaust pipes. The air filter housing had a fair amount of gas in it, which the filter had soaked up. Apparently the bike was sitting at the dealership for over two months without running and the gas might have been left open. I have attached a picture of the bike where the gas is dripping from. Please let me know what you think. Thanks!!!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Hello Mike,
Don't worry, not a biggie, the bike looks fairly new (btw sweet pipes!) so more then likely, it is not a worn float valve.
1st check what position is the fuel tap? Keep it on the "ON" or "RES" position so the gas can only flow when the engine runs and generates the vacuum to open the valve.
If it is on the "ON/RES" position and still leaking then u should replace the gasket/o-ring in the tap (been there done that - about 1-2 hrs of fun).
But if u lucky then ur tap was on the "RPI" position and leak is just caused by some gunk sticking to the float valve.
If this is the case, put some Seafoam (1/3 rd of the can) in the gas tank and go for a long ride.
If this won't fix the leak then maybe it is a stuck float valve - try to tap on the side of the carb, might help bounce back the valve if that won't work then u'll have to remove and disassemble the carb - if u need I have pix and directions.
TC,
Attila

#4 ·
Thanks for the advice and for noticing the pipes... I love them! I'm gonna start by cleaning out the carb, I think and probably taking a look at the fuel tap. Again, thank you!!!