Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Motorcycle Cops

3K views 43 replies 33 participants last post by  Kawasaki Noobie 
#1 ·
I'm new to the motorcycle world and the whole waving etiquette, but do other motorcyclists wave to police officers on motorcycles? And are there certain waves for different bike catagories? Like sportbikes, harleys, cruisers?
Thanks

#2 ·
I don't if there's an "etiquette" when it comes to LEO's. I never wave to them because they're on-the-job; instead, I look their way and nod politely to acknowledge them. There is no "category" of wave for type of bike; just choose a wave and stick with it.

#7 ·
Wave, just make sure you use two or more fingers. And as for proper ettiquette, all I recommend is to not be too over excited in waving. It's dangerous to the recipient! I was riding down the road a week ago and another rider was coming my way. I have a feeling he was pretty new and I was his first wave. I dropped the hand and he threw his left hand up in the air and started waving it like mad with a big smile!!! I just about dumped the bike I was laughing so hard!

#10 ·
I haven't encountered any in the 12 years I've lived in Connecticut and have only seen one in my home town.

However, if I see one and I'm on my bike, I'll certainly wave. Of course, if they don't wave back, it won't hurt my feelings. Some departments consider that not being in full control of the bike.

#12 ·
Wave, just make sure you use two or more fingers. And as for proper ettiquette, all I recommend is to not be too over excited in waving. It's dangerous to the recipient! I was riding down the road a week ago and another rider was coming my way. I have a feeling he was pretty new and I was his first wave. I dropped the hand and he threw is left hand up in the air and started waving it like mad! I just about dumped the bike I was laughing so hard!
Oh man that was funny, haha!

#20 ·
I always wave to cops. Why? Because it's funny to watch the bulk of 'em studiously ignore you.