advice on a first bike please! [Archive] - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums

advice on a first bike please!

2wheeledems
11-13-2016, 03:26 AM
This is my first post so HELLO nice to meet you all. HAD SOME QUESTIONS. I wanted to start on a Honda cb500f I like the naked bikes but i couldn't afford the third vehicle payment for a brand new 7000 bike and I can't pay it up front. My buddy has basically just given me his bike because he doesn't ride it is a 1986 kawasaki voyages 1200cc. This is my first bike to own. Its been a while but I've riden in the past, not extensively im still a newbie, just dirt bikes mostly and a few times on a buddies 600cc sport bike, But its been a few years. Anyways sorry to drone on. I'm 5 10 and 150 lbs I can comfortable throw the bike back and forth between my legs standing flat foot for the most part but haven't rode any on it because I have to get a new battery. Is this to much bike for a beginner should I just hold out and buy something with less power? What's your opinion? I don't know what the throttle response or how sensitive this bike is because I haven't been on it, hoping someone else has.

ricksza
11-13-2016, 06:10 AM
Personally, I would start with something smaller that would be more forgiving if you make a mistake. In a year or so, you may want to more up or have two.

I hope you've taken the MSF Course (http://online2.msf-usa.org/msf/Default.aspx). It's an essential class to teach you how to save your hide on the street and can usually give you a discount on your insurance.

If you're looking for a battery, you might want to check out Chrome Battery Co (https://www.chromebattery.com/). I put one in my bike this past season.
http://i985.photobucket.com/albums/ae338/ricksza/Web%20Links/2pennies.gif

martin-csr
11-13-2016, 07:37 AM