GOT MY NEW BIKE! Kawasaki ninja 400🤤 [Archive] - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums

GOT MY NEW BIKE! Kawasaki ninja 400🤤

Carson_Goodwin
05-06-2018, 10:51 PM
Aight so starting off, I’m 18 literally just got my permit I’ve been riding dirt bikes for a couple of years, never raced just had fun with friends mobbin around in the dirt. But I’m starting this thread because I have to break the bike in which I’ve never done. The MOM (Manuel) says to keep it below 4,000 rpms at all times but the thing is I literally can’t go 45mph on a road without going at least 5k rpms. So this is my 3rd day having the bike and the first day I put 120 miles on it just cause I couldn’t get myself to stop riding I was so excited and am emjoying it so much. Needless to say I happened to go on the freeway and might have gotten up to 8,000 rpms and reality is hitting and I’m worried I might be doing damage given it’s the break in period. The first 60 miles I strictly kept it under 4,000 rpms and have been for most of the time but I had some bursts where I couldn’t help it and had to open up on the throttle and enjoy myself. I’m just curious if it’s really THAT bad to do that during the break in period. Nothing seems wrong at all on the bike I’m just posting this to get more knowledgeable opinions and any tips to get through this break in period because it’s killing me.

Rob9876
05-15-2018, 01:17 PM
Congrats on the new bike -- from the reviews I've read that Ninja 400 sounds like a great bike!

As for the break-in period - that is a topic just slightly less contested than politics and religion. Some say strictly follow the manual, some say ride it like you stole it and break it in fast, some say just vary the RPMs (no long highway hours) and don't go too crazy yet.