KX250F: Header pipe RED HOT - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-03-2009, 10:22 PM Thread Starter

KX250F: Header pipe RED HOT

Hey guys

I just bought an 06 250F yesterday, and its literally got about 6 hours on it from the previous owner. I started it up today and let it sit but after a minute or two i looked down and the header pipe is GLOWING RED. I am a newbie to a dirtbike but i know thats not good. The bike is immaculate and bone stock. What are some things i should check out? Thanks. Look forward to learning from all of yall here.

Jeremy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2009, 04:10 AM
Hey, lemme ride your bike
BTK Expert

It might be lean, but depending on how many minutes you let it set there, you may need to just ride it. The air flowing across it cools it down.

DO NOT e-mail me asking for a pdf of a manual!! Get a Freaking JOB like I did, and buy one!
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-09-2009, 01:45 AM
gaz
BTK Intermediate

our 06 kxf250 pipe glowed in the shed if left idling too long. The pipe was red for about 50mm from the head ex port, but the bike never missed a beat when ridden.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-09-2009, 02:58 AM
Patriot Guardian
Extreme Forum Supporter

+1

With no airflow over the pipe, it will glow red.

You also have no airflow through the radiator, so it doesn't take long to overheat.

- Rich
2006 1600 Ultra-Classic
Patriot Guard Rider
Please put your bike year/model in your sig line or fill in your profile before asking for help.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-09-2009, 08:17 PM
BTK Expert

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDub85 View Post
Hey guys