GPZ900 wonít start! - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By AZGPZ900
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-22-2017, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
GPZ900 wonít start!

Okay I have a 1985 GPZ900 that will continue cranking but will not run. The background is I recently replaced the engine with a warrantied gone through engine (so it shouldnít have any problems). I went through and cleaned the carbs twice now, I also have clear fuel lines and can visually see fuel running through them from the tank. I also have pulled the plugs which are brand new checked the gaps and verified a spark. Currently no air box is connected but my exhaust is fully connected. The engine will run for about 2 seconds with starter fluid which is leading me to believe itís a fuel problem? Any suggestions would be fantastic. Also when I first got the engine to run I had a pretty decent back fire but this has not happened since. Thanks for the help!
AZGPZ900 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-22-2017, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
BTK Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,240
Install the air box. These engines don't like to run without them

Did you install a fuel filter? If not, the carbs could plug up quickly from rusty debris in the gas tank.

What is the compression?

1985 Kawasaki ZN700 Shaft, 4cyl
1989 Yamaha Venture Royale
2007 Yamaha Royal Star Venture
RoadRunner322 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-22-2017, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
BTK Beginner
 
84ninja900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 114
Do you know if the choke is working? My GPZ900 will not even fire when cold unless the choke is fully on. You can verify it is on by manually pushing the choke linkage on the front of the carbs to the left and check that all of the choke plungers are pulled out.

Tod

'84 Kawasaki ZX900A1 Ninja
'75 Yamaha RD350B
'84 Yamaha RZ350L
84ninja900 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-22-2017, 09:30 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
Thanks for the input! Iíll throw the air box back on, I've just avoided it because of the work to put it on but Itís inevitable regardless. Iíll check out the compression. I honestly didnít check it myself, but it was checked multiple times before purchase. Also the choke is working, on the previous engine the carbs functioned perfectly so Iím guessing itís due to the air box. I do have a fuel filter on as well, and it does appear to be clean. Iíll keep you guys posted. This was a surprisingly easy job to do so something had to cause troubles!
AZGPZ900 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-08-2018, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
Okay I installed the intake and have been playing with the fuel/air screws and still cannot get this to start. Thinking it has to be carbs any thoughts?
AZGPZ900 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2018, 01:25 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
Fixed it. Due to airfuel screws being set incorrectly.
RoadRunner322 likes this.
AZGPZ900 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome