'83 CSR 650 / starter button circuit - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 06:39 PM Thread Starter

'83 CSR 650 / starter button circuit

greetings, my restore of my '83 650 got me to disassemble of the starter button housing to clean all the electrical contacts & connections in there ......got it all nice & clean, BUT !!! I am not certain I installed the red hot lead (green arrow in photo) to the correct spot, as it could also install under screw at (red arrow in photo) ....my guess is the way I have it is correct, as pushing the button completes the starter circuit which fires the starter, when the button is released (spring loaded), starter stops spinning .....this is truly a sanity check as I am not good with electrical and cannot afford a major short, fuse pop or wire frying inside my harness by pushing the starter button if it's not connected correctly .....the Kawasaki part number for this starter button housing is 46091-1155 ....also, the Clymer manual does not break down this starter button housing nor show its internal electrical connections .....here is the photo:
THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH FOR THE ASSIST !!! (bummer, the forum will not allow me to post my photo to this thread nor a FlickR link of my photo to this thread unless I've made 5 posts, and it's a beautiful & clear macro close-up ....without the photo, you guys cannot see what I am referring to ....??? ......my only option now is someone popping the top off their 46091-1155 starter button housing and sharing a pic of the wire connections inside .....this was a very widely used starter button housing and assembly, on many Kawasaki in-line-4 bikes 1980 thru 1985 or so ...)

Last edited by Uncle Freddy; 05-21-2019 at 06:48 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 08:56 PM

Garage
circuit analysis