1986 Kawasaki ninja 1000r Problems Need Help - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2019, 11:12 PM Thread Starter

Question 1986 Kawasaki ninja 1000r Problems Need Help

Hi, so I'm new to this but I'm currently having a couple of issues that are arising with the bike that I just bought. Any help would be appreciated and I understand that you can only go off so much from me just telling you what I'm experiencing. So the Issues are when I start the bike it starts fine and idles high then eventually comes down, but every so often I'll be riding and the bike will start idling high again and sometimes it will just do that for a minute then it goes back down, or else i have to almost lean the carb out a little bit for it to fall. I want to say this is just a vacuum leak but I'm not mechanically inclined enough to truly go off of my assumption. Secondly I'll be riding the bike and as I go up the rpm's only between about 3500 and 4000 the bike will sputter, then after I get above it'll move perfectly fine again like theres no issues. Thats my only issues at the moment any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-06-2019, 08:12 AM
BTK Expert

These are really very old bikes, and you don't say if it had been sitting for long time. If so, it probably needs carbs cleaned for sure. Thht might help the sputtering

...idling changing does sound like a possible vacuum leak, but there is not much to the vacuum lines, assuming the carb boots are in good shape. Don't know much about your particular bike, but in general vacuum operates the fuel petcock, and the Kawasaki "Kleen" system for polution (air into the exhaust valves, through the valve cover). Because the bike is very old, all of this could be sources of leaks, but is not very difficult to find it.

......don't promote pollution, but the 'Kleen" system could also be eliminated for simplicity.