Towing Questions - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-09-2016, 06:31 PM Thread Starter
Vulcan Rider

Towing Questions

Good Afternoon All,
My name is Brian and I am new to the forum, but not to riding. I have been riding for about 16 years and have found myself with a new question which I can not find an answer too. I have a 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600. I have rode it everywhere. This year I purchased a camper and said it sure would be great to take my bike with me to destinations. My dilemma is putting it in my truck. My first question is what ramps do you guys recommend. I saw on discountramps.com a calculator and it recommended a 14ft long ramp, WOW!. Secondly do you guys use the tie down loops made into the bed, or are they not strong enough? The last thing I want is to have my bike rip one from the bed and fall over. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Brian

Brave men don't slay dragons, they ride them!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-10-2016, 07:27 PM
Politicians' Nightmare
BTK Expert

The Vulcan 1600 is a rather heavy bike and the longer the ramp the easier it is to load a bike. The shorter the ramp the more muscle it takes, unless one wants to take a crack at running the bike up the ramp under its own power, which can be risky unless the ramp is rather wide and the rider makes a quick shot of loading and doesn't make any mistakes.. I've used a 14 foot ramp to load my VN900, a much lighter bike. Also a longer ramp in my experience makes unloading easier and safer. Although the ramp I've used isn't collapsible it may be possible to find a ramp which is.

Jim
'07 Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Jesus is Lord
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-10-2016, 08:40 PM
BTK Expert

This might help.

The BikeBandit Blog | How to Load a Motorcycle Onto a Truck

1985 Kawasaki ZN700 Shaft, 4cyl
1989 Yamaha Venture Royale
2007 Yamaha Royal Star Venture
Sponsored Links
Advertisement