Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Help! 06 Vulcan 500 won't start: Loud Clicking when I press the ignition button

20K views 22 replies 10 participants last post by  StarGate 
#1 ·
Aloha, I'm new to riding and love my 06 Vulcan 500 but it won't start! It has been clicking Very loud when I press the ignition button for the last couple weeks but always eventually started...now it won't even start it just clicks and the loud noise is coming from under the seat on the left side i think. I attached a picture of the location w/o the cover where i think the noise is coming from. Can anyone Please advise me?? it seems like it could be an easy part to swap out; maybe the starter?? I've disconnected some of the cables in the area trying to trouble shoot. I do not have the user manual. Mahalo (Thanks) a lot.
Mike

Attachments

See less See more
#7 ·
make sure battery is FULL of DISTILLED water
make sure battery is FULLY CHARGED
make sure battery can pass a LOAD TEST (doesnt drop below 10.5v) any bike/car place can do this for you
make sure cables are tight/clean
if battery checks out then could be starter relay is going bad or switch on bars is going bad.... get a factory service manual and check both..

#8 ·
First off, when it did eventually start, did it turn over normally or did it sound like the battery was drained and was cranking really slowly? If it was normal, then it's more than likely something in your starter circuit. You should definitely have the battery checked first, as this could save you a lot of troubleshooting and work. If the battery is fine, then you will want to perform the following tests to try and track down the problem.

First and foremost, check to make sure your battery cables are clean and tight. Disconnect them and clean the terminals and battery posts with a wire brush to make sure you get a good connection. Reattach them and make sure they are tight.