Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Carburetor leaking

5K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  ajsfirehawk 
#1 ·
Hi all,

New to this forum. I have an old Kawa GPZ 900 R (1988 ) and have some trouble with the left carburetor leaking petrol. Petrol is pouring out from the air inlet as well as from the inlet into the cilinders when the motor is off and the throttle is not used. I am not a Kawa pro, but i have a hunch the left carb is stuck somewhere on the inside.
I have tried giving the carb some small taps to see if that unlocks the stuck part inside but no luck. Possibly someone on this forum can tell me what the problem is and how to solve it? Im mailing from the Netherlands, my english isnt perfect but should be ok.
Thank you all for reading and possibly helping me. (ps i have no experience on forums so hope i am posting on right manner)

regards Smuzzi

#3 ·
Thanks David1963

Pfew.. sounds like a lot of work for such a small reapir but if this is the way i guess it has to be done.
I havent removed and opened/cleaned vacuum carbs before, is ther anything special i need to know in the proces?

thanks again

regards Smuzzi

#4 · (Edited)
This is rather common in old carburated bikes. ….in general, fuels flows by gravity from the tank to the carburetor's bowls. Usually through a vacuum operated petcock or tap. Petcock is opened by engine vacuum when running. In the carb bowl, there is a float with a rubber pointed valve (needle) which shuts the fuel when proper level is reached.

If a carb is leaking when engine is not running, then both, the petcock and the carb valve are leaking. The petcock is a rubber diaphragm and they sell kits to 'rebuild' them, or it could simply be replaced for a new one. Usually there is a filter on top of it inside the tank.