Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

A bit about me!

2K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  RoadRunner322 
#1 ·
I joined the forum yesterday! I am 71 years young and have a 1999 ZZR600 with under 14,000 miles on the clock! My motorcycling started on my 16th. Birthday when my dad bought me a 1954 ex Royal Mail BSA Bantam it was a 125cc 2 stroke. When I started work as an Apprentice Engineer I couldn’t wait to get a “better bike” and bought a BSA C15 a 250cc 4 stroke which I passed my driving test on. As soon as I passed my test I couldn’t wait to get a bigger bike and bought a Matchless G9 500cc Twin. Unfortunately I was seduced into getting a car and bikes fell off my radar for 39 years. Not fully as during that time I bought a 250cc 4 stroke Panther! And an AJS CSR 650! Neither of which I managed to get on the road.
Possibly of interest is a story relating to the AJS. I have lived in the same house for over 40 years and several years ago I had a phone call from a man who asked if I had ever owned an AJS? I said yes and he said he was the current owner. He was trying to find any information on the bike. I turns out it is the 1961 AJS works production racer and was raced by the factory test rider. He sent me photo’s and it was in a sorry state being the frame and motor. I must try and contact him and see what progress he has made!
Well that’s me and bikes!
Having a few problems with my “baby” at present and hope my Haines manual and some suggestions from

See less See more
#4 · (Edited)
Welcome back to the motorcycling world. I'm 75, so you're not the oldest rider on the site! I've been a shadetree mechanic all my life and I know more about autos than motorcycles but I try to help when I can. I've been a casual or occasional rider more than a fanatic. I'm learning more about bikes now than ever before with my 3 old bikes trying to keep them running. Keep in mind that free advice is worth what you pay for it sometimes! Ha!