305 CSR getting back on the road: timing chain tensioner - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 06:39 PM Thread Starter

305 CSR getting back on the road: timing chain tensioner

Hello all,

I have a 1982 305 CSR which I stopped riding about 5 years ago. I remember I stopped riding it because of a timing chain noise issue, which I determined at the time was a timing chain tensioner. I can remember that these bikes had an issue and there was a modification to fix this issue, but this is all I can remember.

Can someone point me in a direction on how involved this project would be and what I should expect to need to do to get a bike that hasn't been on the road in 5 years. I'm more of an antique car guy, so I have mechanical experience but I have little knowledge of motorcycles.

Thank you,
Brandon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 12:30 PM
BTK Expert

Assuming you don't have the Kawasaki service manual, there's a pdf available on the internet for the KZ305.
The FSM will have specific info for removing, servicing & re-installing the tensioner.
Also, the diagrams at Kawasaki dot com or Partzilla can be handy, as well as EB photos.

I don't know the specifics of your tensioner, but several things to note: read the manual before removing the tensioner or messing with it; don't turn the crankshaft when the tensioner is removed; and do not remove the tensioner mounting bolts only half way.

Mine is different from yours, but I use brake caliper grease to lubricate the tensioner

1981 KZ650-CSR. Competition, Sports & Road.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 08:40 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the reply. I found some forum posts or articles on changing the auto-tensioner to a manual tensioner several years ago when I first had the issue, but I am no longer able to find these articles. I know one of the big Kawasaki forums has become defunct, so maybe they were on that forum.