Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
03 250 Ninja with 3.2k on it.
I just bought the bike so the bike was sitting in a garage and I am assuming he did not drain the carbs for winter. Previous owner said a mechanic did the 3k service, but I will be checking doing it again cuz I dont trust them. I bought the bike and was able to drive it around for 25 miles before this problem came up.

The Bike Starts and cold idles with the choke fine and when it warms up it runs fine for a little bit. Then it dies and it dosent want to start. If it gets cold while pushing the bike home(I can only get 1-2 miles away until it dies) sometimes it will start but it will idle horribly and die when given gas or I try to ride it. This got progressively worse over 3 days, as the first time it started(after it died) and I was able to ride it home, but not the last few times. Also, choke has to be completely on for it to start. I am a newb to motorcycles but I am mechanically inclined, so I will be working on the bike.

Any suggestions other than cleaning the carbs?

·
Registered
522 Posts
I honestly don't think you've got any choice but to strip and clean the carbs, something obviously got dislodged and is now blocking one or both carbs or there was sludge/water in the float-bowls.

if you really don't want to strip the carbs it might be worth draining the tank and fetching the fuel-tap out to check the filters are clean and clear. Before you drain it you could check if you've got fuel flow in the ON and RES positions.

Drain the float-bowls and see what comes out.

A gallon or two of fresh with some fuel-line/carb-cleaner in and try again.

New plugs wouldn't go amiss :D

·
Registered
286 Posts
If it starts back up after sitting, there could be other problems.

-Gas tank vent not working properly. If it starts to run crappy, try opening the gas tank lid quick and see if that helps. This one is easy to figure out