Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so im pretty new to this whole thing, the idea of a bike sounds.... fun.. but i feel like a moron asking retarded questions cause i know next to nothing... wait i know absolutely nothing about a bike... but i like the way these look not to mention the price... so here was my thought, i figured id see if i could get a used 250R to start out on cuase they are the cheapest ones out so if i f*** up then i wont have wasted a ton of money down the drain right?

so first things first would this be a good model to start on? IE for a beginner will it kill me? =P

anywho if anyone has any suggestions lemme know? my major concern is spending alot of money and messing it up in the learnings of how to ride and such

thanks =)

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
NinjaNewbChick said:
so here was my thought, i figured id see if i could get a used 250R to start out on cuase they are the cheapest ones out so if i f*** up then i wont have wasted a ton of money down the drain right?
Buying used will certainly save you money and you won't have to feel as bad if you drop it.
so first things first would this be a good model to start on? IE for a beginner will it kill me? =P
The 250 Ninja is a great bike to start on. Gives you a chance to not be overpowered by the bigger and heavier bikes. As far as killing yourself - You can do that on any bike, but starting with a smaller bike reduces that chance. Sign yourself up for a MSF class locally and they can teach you the basics to riding and give you sound street strategies. The rest of it is what you are doing now which is asking questions and research. Several good books on the market. I recommend "Proficient Motorcycling" and its sequel "More Proficient Motorcycling".
anywho if anyone has any suggestions lemme know? my major concern is spending alot of money and messing it up in the learnings of how to ride and such

thanks =)