Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
'Beast' is an 07 Nomad bought new that now has 51K miles on it. When nearing the point at which you would normally upshift, the engine seems as though it is skipping/hesitating/running rough and will not turn faster until you upshift. 75 mph in 5th is the top end before this problem starts. Seems like it is not getting enough air or gas. I have replaced airfilter, spark plugs, always use premium gas, and have never abused the bike, although I am an aggressive rider. The bike runs smoothly until you roll the throttle on and it nears the shifting point. I live in B'ham, Alabama and the problem appeared recently with the cooler temps of 30-50 degrees. I ride every day, and the problem seems to be worse the colder it gets. I am by no means an expert mechanic, but I do some of the maintenance myself. I really do not want to give to the dealer if this is an easy fix because if it is not raining hard, I'm riding! Bike is still under factory warranty. Could this be an fuel injector/pump problem? Any ideas or suggestions?

·
Navy Vet Search & Rescue
8,842 Posts
When was the last time it had a complete tuneup? Have you ever run any injector cleaner in it? I'm thinking you probably don't have a tach but if you do, how close to redline is it when it has the problem.

·
Premium Member
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Had the recommended services done by dealer. I do the oil changes every 3k myself. Independent shop does tires and brakes. No tach, but nowhere near redline. Have not used injector cleaner. Speedometer is off by about 10% accd to GPS and radar; ie, reads 60 but is really 54mph. Issue starts when in 5th gear bike is actually doing 73 (shows 82); 4th gear bike is actually doing 54mph (shows 60); 3rd gear- 48mph (shows 54); does this also in 2nd and 1st I'm just not sure the speed. Bike in past 50k miles has not had this problem at all.

·
itching to ride
2,233 Posts