Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

681 - 700 of 719 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
I called the local kawasaki dealer about 30 miles away and the service rep said a good pump will put out 38 to 43 psi. Dunno how correct that is but now I at least have to get a filter which holds up to at least 45 psi.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
1999 1500 Vulcan Nomad. Oil leaking at oil pump, from outermost cover, and on bottom at brass crush seal. I can handle the brass crush seal, but what do I do about the outer cover seal? No gasket is listed. So then......?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
New member here...Just picked up a 2003 Vulcan Nomad 1500..My first cruiser...used to have a crotch rocket many years ago...I've been spoiled driving my girls Harley...but she got tired riding b*ch on her own bike..LOL

I love the bike so far....lots of power, heavy and solid on the road and handles like a dream.

Here's a pic.
 

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
10,774 Posts
New member here...Just picked up a 2003 Vulcan Nomad 1500..My first cruiser...used to have a crotch rocket many years ago...I've been spoiled driving my girls Harley...but she got tired riding b*ch on her own bike..LOL

I love the bike so far....lots of power, heavy and solid on the road and handles like a dream.

Here's a pic.
Nice! Question tho- are you sure it's a 1500? I can't read the air cover sticker but I thought the 1500s had a single front brake disc and the 1600s were dual front disc. Just curious...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
995 Posts
Nomads (1500 & 1600) have dual brakes on the front. the 1500 Classics have just one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
995 Posts
All the Nomads have cast wheels also.......the 1500 Classics have spokes. I'm not sure about the 1600 Classic.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Just picked up a 99 nomad from a friend. It has a high 5 intake. And cobra pipes.for a 1500 doesn't seem like it has a lot of power that I was expecting. If anyone could give a little input. .please
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
995 Posts
I believe it's carbed so you may want to increase the jet size..........more air in and more air out needs more fuel to keep the fuel air mix proper.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
2 Air Cleaners, Is it a Classic

I have a few questions about my 96 Vulcan 1500?

When I enter my VIN into various sites online it says its a VN1500D, but when I look for parts the only D I find is a "Classic"(which actually lists as a VN1500D1?) my bike doesn't have any Classic badging, how can I tell?

Also it has an air cleaner housing on both sides but only has an air cleaner element on the left side, right housing is empty? Was considering using the existing cleaner element (that I'm about to replace with a K&N) on the other side? thoughts?
I thought I saw a kit to replace the unused housing but now I cant find it anymore?

Thanks for the help, and for a great place to discuss issues w/ other riders

Mike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
Re: 2 Air Cleaners, Is it a Classic

Correct me if I'm wrong...but the model designations are as follows:

1500A-original 1500 SOP ~1985
1500N-Classic with carburetor
1500D-Classic with FI
1500P-Meanstreak
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Re: 2 Air Cleaners, Is it a Classic

I defiantly don't know a lot about these bikes, but when i enter my VIN into any online site it shows it as a VN1500D and I know its carb, not FI(did the offer FI in 96?) I did find the designation of "Classic" on the bottom of one of the badges so I'm fairly confident its a classic, but thanks.

My other question is still bothering me, I have 2 air cleaner housings but only 1 has an element?

I put the E3's, and K&N in yesterday, it does seem to run a little better but i didnt do anything with the other air cleaner housing on the right side of the bike, anyone have any suggestions?

thanks again

mike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
Re: 2 Air Cleaners, Is it a Classic

Sorry about the mis-information with the model designations. Goes to show...not EVERYONE in a forum knows everything. To answer your other question pertaining to the air cleaner...yes, there are 2 sides to the air box, but only the right side contains a filter element. The rest of it is to muffle the intake noise and to make the bike look "symmetrical" and also to hide the coil packs and a lot of other "ugly" stuff. You can completely remove the whole air box and install an aftermarket air cleaner directly to the carb. This would require that you remove the fuel tank I believe.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Re: 2 Air Cleaners, Is it a Classic

thanks kcarlson1979

that's exactly what i was hoping to hear! except mine has the element on the left side of the bike? should i put an element on the missing side, as i now have an extra? is there any advantage/disadvantage?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
10,774 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Re: 2 Air Cleaners, Is it a Classic

kcarlson1979 thanks for the breakdown, and rbentnail very creative solution (there might be a market for the bracket??)

but as long as i understand whats going on, and that there's nothing wrong, i kind of like the symmetrical look.

thanks to all, and i will post a E3/K&N performance update after i run a few tanks of gas thru it

mike
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
10,774 Posts
Re: 2 Air Cleaners, Is it a Classic

The breather I installed at the time wasn't all that different from the OEM. Besides, you only look at one side a time :). It wasn't a real popular model but I liked it. Don't think it can be had anymore.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
94 Vulcan 1500 88 starting problems ( of course)

hey im hoping anyone can help, I recently acquired a 1994 vulcan 1500 88 and i replaced the solenoid and at first it seemed like it wanted to crank over but the battery i was using was not adequate to handle the cca this particular bike requires. so i went to local wallyworld and got the es50n18la3. Needless to say it just didnt seem to work of course the twist throttle on the handle bar breaks cheap plastic but also this bike was sitting outside for a while so i guess its expected. So what happens now is when i turn on the ignition i get one click and thats it and thats all. Im in the process of cleaning all my connectors with my dremel and making sure all wires are connected correctly. anywho any help is much appreciated, I also cleaned the right throttle start button and kill switch housing assembly
 
681 - 700 of 719 Posts
Top