Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a used 1980 Kawasaki 440 from a friend. It has 7500 miles on it and was kept in a garage for about 2 years, anyways, I got it started with some carb cleaner , it seems to run pretty good except for some white smoke comming from underneath the motor ? Im not sure if bikes are suppose to release white smoke or not Im new to owning a bike so any information will be very helpful, It almost seemed like the exhause pipe has a hole in it or something but is it normal for white smoke to be released ? Any help will be greatly appreciated thanks

·
Registered
456 Posts
I'm not familiar with the 440, but here's my 2 cents.

Run your finger under the engine. Poke around and see if you can find a leak (especially oil or coolant -- if that's a water cooled engine, that is). If everything's okay, check your oil level. Make sure it's not high or low. If you have a radiator, check your fluid there, too. Then ride it all weekend and give us an update on Monday.

It may be the water drain holes in the bottom of your exhaust pipes. And it may be that in two years a mouse built a nest somewhere in there, and now you're cooking the stuff out. Under normal operation there should not be any smoke coming from the engine, but you just bought this baby, so air it out a little an get back to us later.
Curt

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
the bike is air cooled, so the coolant isnt the problem. I have looked under themotor and didnt see any leakage of oil either ? Im going to give it a nice spin this weekend and see how it goes. thanks for your input Ill let you know how it turns out =)

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
If it is white smoke coming out of the exhaust, You may have too much oil in your bike, it could be the vavle oil seal is damaged, piston oil ring is worn - maybe cylinder head gasket needs to be replaced.......