Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I recently bought a second hand 1981 KZ750. This is my first bike, and therefore I failed to pick up the leak during my initial inspection. But I got a good price and the rest of the bike looks to be in great shape, so I'm not too ****ed off about it. And besides, part of my buying an older bike was because I wanted to learn how to maintain it and fix any problems that arose myself, so I guess I got what I wished for.

The problem is one of my carbs is leaking from its overflow tube, and I'm not exactly sure why. I assume it's because the float is faulty and is failing to close the valve that allows fuel into the carb, but because I'm not an expert and therefore a little reluctant to just blindly start pulling things apart, I thought I'd try to get some other opinions from other people in the know.

I have a video up on youtube that shows exactly what's going on:

YouTube - 1981 KZ750 - Fuel is leaking out of one of the overflow tubes.

As you can see, if I raise the end of the overflow tube above the level of the carb then the leak stops, but as soon as I drop it below that level fuel starts quickly leaking out.

Any thoughts or advice on how to further diagnose and fix the problem would be much appreciated.

Thanks!!!

·
Registered
11,328 Posts
Carb floats can some times fail and fill up with gas, Do this first:

1. Turn off the gas.
2. Remove the float bowl of the leaky carb.
3. Carefully remove the float by pulling out the pivot.
4. Catch the needle valve as it will fall once the float is removed.
5. Shake the removed float and see if gas is in inside.
6. Inspect for crud in the seat of the needle valve.
7. To clean the seat of the needle valve, get some Brasso or other metal polish, a cotton swab(Q-tip) and spin the swab with your fingers, polishing the shut of valve seat.

I'd suggest getting some rags to catch any dropped screws/parts.

·