Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm a Noob to posting on this forum; thank you for all the advice I've taken from previous posts!

I have a 1982 KL250A5 that has a severe hesitation when the throttle is applied. I've cleaned the carb (everything is clear), the boot appears to be tight, and I think that the problem is tied to a shot diaphram on the carb. I've seen a previous post on a short-term fix, but I'm looking for a long-term fix. Does anyone know where to find a replacement diaphram or what carb can be used as a replacement on this bike?

Thanks in advance for your help!

·
GHOSTRIDER
3,361 Posts
Any fix is short term,anything after that is borrowed time. Ive used RTV silicon and latex glove material to patch diaframs and it worked quite well. Some guys are using Gorilla glue and nitrile glove material to make the same patches to diaframs. You can hold the existing diafram up to bright light and see any cracks or holes in the rubber. Any money spent on a used carb is a gamble because they may very well have a bad diafram as well. Make your patch small and on the top/cover side of the diafram and start saving the money to go ahead and replace the diafram with the new $175 dollar replacement. Do not run gasoline with 10% ethanol as it will break down and harden rubber diaframs over time.

·
Registered
276 Posts
These CV diaphragm carbs are nice instruments when new, but for those who like to run decades old machines, they are an expensive nusiance. Some of the very early Honda CV carbs didn't have a diaphragm, but just a very close fitting piston. They were all metal, a bit heavy for snappy throttle response, and expensive to manufacture.

I like the nitrile glove fix, and will use that on my next occaision. Good tip.

·
Registered
276 Posts