Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey there guys, my first post.. ive been reading alot of threads on this site there seems to be a TON of people on here who know ALOT about these bikes so im looking forward to getting some help with my problem, thanks in advance :)

ok so... i bought this 1986 gpz600 (its my second 1986 gpz600... love these bikes) i sold my first one because it developed a problem not starting... im onto my second one and having problems with this bike also! (lol)

i have only had the bike a few weeks.. the guy i got it from said it needed spark plugs and thats why it was acting up (when i first got it it would almost stop reving at 5000 put if u played with the trottle it would then rev past and work great..) so i changed the plugs and after that it ran worse!! with the new plugs it would not rev past 4000 at all.. so i decided (probly not the smartest idea because i have no experience with carbs) to clean the carbs, i didnt not take them apart just took the bowls off the bottom and soaked the carbs in gas then sprayed carb cleaner in them and thru all the jet holes and everything.. i put them back on the bike and it ran even worse yet.... i tried adjusting the screws on the bottom as i read on here (turn them all the way in then CCW 2 turns) it ran a little better after that but not 100% at all and the same problems still exist.. if i put the choke on full when im driving i can rev it to 7000... i dunno why that is.. i changed the CDI box.. the plug wires dont seem to be in bad shape.. i could really use some help here i have no idea what to do to get the bike to run good..., thanks for anyones help!!!!! i REALLY need it at this point!!! i tried adjustng the screws in the bottom of the carbs out another turn today but that seemed to make it run even worse it would barley rev at all... View attachment 43905 i also have a 2 different coils for it and 4 different plug wires but the coils