Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everybody Im new to the board thanks for having me.

Well okay here goes.

Bike is a 1987 Kawasaki Ninja 600R I picked it up today from some yahoo for 500 this guy decided he was going to change the head gasket. The Bike ran before he changed the gasket and doesnt run now, It turns over fine meaning it turns over clean and with the right sound doesnt sound slow when it cranks. My question is how do I set the timing on this bike? The guy I bought it from said something about the spark being pink and not blue from the coil too. If that makes any sense to anyone. I have some good mechanical knowledge but it all involves cars havent done allot with bikes yet except riding them. Any help anyone can give me would be appreciated.

My other bikes are a 80 Suzuki GS750 16 valve And 97 Honda Magna VF750 This is my first Sport Bike. Well the Magna is supposed to be a Sport Cruiser but you know what I mean. LOL

Thanks In Advance

Troy

·
Navy Vet Search & Rescue
8,842 Posts
If it ran before the head gasket was replaced I would check to make sure he got the cam to crankshaft timing correct. You will need a service manual for that. If the spark is not blue I would check the coil input voltage and if that was OK then I'd try a new set of plugs and wires.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3