Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off Im new here so hello to everyone.
I have been riding and wrenching on ATV's for about 15 years now and this Bayou has got me baffled. I tried to read through similar topics to see if my answer may already be here but I didnt see anything exactly like im going through. so here it goes:

Bought a used 92? used Bayou 300 4x4... the guy I got it from I have dealt with for years and is a straight shooter but he got it as a trade in not running....it had no spark so he bought a new CDI box for it....that didnt do it...so I got it thinking it was something easy like the coil..I bought new coil....nothing....I took out the stator had it tested....guy said he though it was ok...but wasnt to convincing....I then proceeded to follow all wires to see if I had a short/break some where....didnt find anything...... every once in awhile when plug was out in cap Id touch it to the frame etc. I would get a very weak spark and then nothing at all for hours......the only thing I havent replaced is the Stator and the little voltage regulator...Im at my wits end with this thing...any suggestions?
The only reason I havent stuck a rag in the tank and lit it on fire is because its in great shape and I know the original owner didnt use it much.....

·
Registered
16 Posts
Hi, I am having the same exact problem with my '88 bayou 4X2. Did you ever figure out what the problem was? I have had the ignition coil checked and I have verified that the stator and pickup coil are within specs per a service manual. I have also checked all of the wiring and have not found anything wrong...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
allenbrand said: