Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey so I’m new to having a bike and unfortunately wasn’t super smart about it I forgot to fill my oil and as I was riding the back tire locked then released I thought it was a seized engine but the bike still turns over I put a few Quarts of oil back in the bike but now I’m leaking fuel and I don’t know why I am mostly trying to figure out what kind of damage I did to the bike by running the oil dry I have attached a photo of where the bike is leaking gas

Attachments

·
Registered
309 Posts
Sadly you have likely done some serious damage. It is not unusual for an engine to stick and then turn over. I once had a Kawasaki KZ400 seize the cam, lock the rear wheel and then restart after I had pulled in the clutch and coasted to the side of the road. This was a new machine with less than five miles. The restart got me back to the shop but the damage was done, head and cam ruined. The crank bearings rely on pressurized oil and the resulting oil wedge to prevent metal to metal contact. The piston skirt is another location that needs constant oil. Transmission gears and ball bearings are a bit more tolerant of oil starvation but still need to be inspected. I would not worry too much at this point about the fuel leak as the engine will need a tear down and inspection. One of the dangers here is that even though the engine may run there is likely some transfer of metal on one or more parts. These transfers of metal will cause reduced clearance, localized hot spots and the very real danger of future seizure even though the engine now has oil.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·