Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I am totally new to motorcycles, bought my first bike, took a safety course and going for my road test next week. I bought a 2006 Vulcan 900 with 13K miles. After a lot of reading i have come to realize that the whining i hear on my bike is not normal and a stator issue. My question is, are RM stators good ? I read Ricks are the ones to get but RM seems more easily available through Amazon, and an OEM one through the local dealer is ridiculously overpriced. Also I live in Canada so shipping here is sometimes an issue but getting better.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Why do you think it's the stator?

I'm having a hard time understanding how a stator whines. It's just 3 lengths of copper wire wound into coils around a frame. No moving parts.

They usually fail by shorting out or shorting to ground or burning open. All easily checkable with a digital multimeter.

·
Registered
986 Posts
Is you're bike charging properly? Whining from a stator as a reason to change it seems a bit much. You could put in a new one and still have that whine. I don't know why a stator would white, a poster above stated the reasons why they usually don't. They usually just burn out without any sound.

The oil pumps are known to whine and go bad on these bikes. If the oil pressure is low, the straight cut gears will whine. Sometimes you can take a stick (or long dowel) and put it to your ear, and the other end to the area you think is whining. It should amplify through the stick, being isolated, a couple of revs, with the bike on it's center stand, and in Neutral, then you can hear for sure if it is coming from the stator.

If not (I hope you have the Service Manual) then go to where the oil pump is and try to hear if the whining is from there. If you're determined to buy a Stator, I've had real good luck with ElectroSport products.. Their Stators usually produce 20% more voltage.