Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok i am pretty new to repairing dirtbikes. i had a few questions

I think i am expirencing clutch drag. I can get to neutral and pull the clutch in and when i go to shift to first it dies. I have tried to adjust the perch with no luck.

I have bought a new hinson clutch componnet kit. IE Springs and discs.

I have a manual. and i am a little confused i have two drain plugs. One is Oil Sump and the other is a Transmission Sump. I have read the manual but it doesnt tell me what kind of transmission fluid to put in it or even where. Is there two oils? I have a 85 Weight Transmission oil for wet clutches. Where do i put it in at?

Next i watched a video on how to replace it. when i seen the video they removed the clutch cover and first they pried the pads of the rear brake pedal. Is this neccessary? and if so would i have to open the bleed valve to release the pressure.

Has anyone ever used a hinson clutch? Does it wear well with OEM equpment?

How long should i soak the Discs in Oil. I have heard anywhere from a Hour to overnight.

Anyone with specific knowledge it would be appreciated. I know pretty silly questions. i just want to make sure i am doing everything correct.

·
Registered
407 Posts
Ok i am pretty new to repairing dirtbikes. i had a few questions

I think i am expirencing clutch drag. I can get to neutral and pull the clutch in and when i go to shift to first it dies. I have tried to adjust the perch with no luck.

I have bought a new hinson clutch componnet kit. IE Springs and discs.

I have a manual. and i am a little confused i have two drain plugs. One is Oil Sump and the other is a Transmission Sump. I have read the manual but it doesnt tell me what kind of transmission fluid to put in it or even where. Is there two oils? I have a 85 Weight Transmission oil for wet clutches. Where do i put it in at?