Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to all and Happy New Year also a big thanks, I've found allot of great and very useful info here. I was plowing the other day with my 2510 Mule and heard a pop from the left rear, on inspection I had found the left rear outer axle snapped. I'm not a mechanic by no means, but know how to use my tools and have fixed allot on this machine and others from reading the posts. A little about myself, I'm a T-10 Para but try and do what I can. I read the book and preceeded to disasemble the rear section, manual says, tires, hubs, brakes and drop the leaf springs, I did all that with the help of a neighbor, but when trying to re-install the new outer axle, I'm totally stumped? How to I get both of them to go back in, is there some kind of a trick to it? Any info with this would sure be appreciated, as this mule is my legs in the winter months and rest of the seasons for that matter too :biggrin:

·
Registered
3,787 Posts
From what I read I suspect you are having trouble getting both the rear axles installed in the rear suspension bracket (the tube that connects both brake assemblies together and to the springs) after both the axles (rear drive shafts in Kaw terms) were fully reassembled and connected to the inner shaft and trunnion assemblies.

The rear suspension bracket has two sets of bearings on each side, along with two sets of spacers. That keeps you from being able to just shift the bracket to one side then the other to reinsert the outer axles.