Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not a mechanic, but I try!
I have this on-going restoration project of which I think has come a long way since resurrecting this 2510 4x4 Mule from its grave.
I've worked this mule from the "Front Final Drives to the Rear to include the electrical, heads, carb, etc." It is currently running pretty good, as I am slowly but surely working out all the bugs. But what I think to be the final obstacle is this knocking or chattering sound if you will. I know it is coming from the drive converter assy as I have removed the converter cover, run it in neutral, and know for sure. The sound is there only during low idle and totally diminishes on acceleration. I am guessing it has something to do with the spider and weight ramp assembly as I have already replaced all bushings.

I know from reading the threads there is quite a bit of knowledge out there, and I am hoping someone can enlighten me with my stubborn mule.

Mahalo

·
Registered
27 Posts
Mahalo, spray the ends of the spider with lithium grease carefull not to get any on drive belt. If the noise goes away then take off the spider and rebuild with new rollers and pins. My spider sounded like chiklets in a coffee can before I rebuilt it. You can shim the ramp weights to eliminate side to side movement, but be carefull the ramp weights must still move freely up and down.
Ken

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Aloha bigk56,
I’ve learned something new again today! It makes perfect sense; too much clearance or slop would allow the ramp weights to sling from side to side on low RPM. I’ll delve into your suggestion or should I say remedy. I’m thinking I can take this answer to the bank!

“CHIKLETS IN A COFFEE CAN” that’s a perfect description. I’ll be in touch!

Hey, you catching the “BCS Sugar Bowl” at the Super Dome? Hawaii vs Georgia, see you there!

Mahalo (Thank You in Hawaiian)

·
Registered
27 Posts