Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
the bike seems to run well, but from the 2nd cylinder (from the left if you are sitting on the bike) it looks like there is oil (or black gas?) getting blown through the exhaust a little when it first is warming up. once the motor is hot it doesnt do this. a little bit leaks out of where the header meets the head of the second cylinder. the motor was just rebuilt a few hundred miles ago with a big bore (i think 700cc+). i pulled the carbs and replaced the jets, but not there's not much difference. could it be another issue in the carbs? or does that sound like something more serious? thanks, i'm new at this!

·
Motorcycle Momma
839 Posts
jsuhre,

Anytime you fool with the carbs all kinds for problems can be created if they aren't reinstalled correctly. I had to have my carbs resynced after Mack took them off and cleaned them. We didn't know how to do that part....so I paid my mechanic to do it. It cleared up all of the problems and now the bike is running at 100% instead of 80%

Heather

·
Registered
115 Posts
Is the header hot? It should heat up at the same rate as the other cylinders. Mine did this...the Header was cold, and there was a miss...#2 not firing at all. I switched plugs with #1 (after drying the plug off) and #1 started doing it, . It was a bad plug (NGK) only 300 miles old. Kzrider.com guys say this is common. So...if #2 isn't firing, its a starting point, and potential cheap fix. Still use NGK plugs BTW.

Ride safe...God bless!

-Ron

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks, ill try switching those plugs and see what happens! thanks for the help everyone..

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i switched the plugs..no luck...so i guess it has to be the second cylinder carb? could it be getting too much fuel and just not running the second cylinder because of that? and idea on what to check/fix would help! thanks

·