Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,
I just got an 82 ltd 750 for Christmas. It has been crashed but only has damage on parts I want to change anyways. It even came with a sticker that says "crashing sucks" on the gas tank. The wheels are not damaged but I would like to put 17" rims on it with sticky tires. Anyone know of some that will bolt up? I am new to the older bikes and want to learn about it. I tried to search but came up with nothing. Thanks for your time!

·
Registered
1,221 Posts
If you want more modern tires, get a more modern bike. First off, remember any modern tires are better than what you could buy in 1982 anyway, so you're already ahead of the game. You can probably fit some 17" rims to the bike, but that'll make your ground clearance even worse than it already is, and the costs to make a set of rims fit, will quite likely run you as much as you've already spent on the bike. The LTD's aren't renowned for being good enough handlers to warrant racing rubber anyway. Buy some good tires for the stock rims, and invest the rest in a good set of shocks and having the forks reworked.

·
Premium Member
2,267 Posts
I agree with the above. Unless you want to sink some real time and money into upgrading the frame and suspension the sticky rubber won't help and could actually hurt.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks guys, the bike was 100% free and i just got it home yesterday. It fires right up but when it crashed the front brake line came undone. I think that the front forks are maybe bent too, i'll put a straightedge on them today. If they are bent what other forks will fit? What kind of bars can you recommend? I was thinking of some fairly flat bars. I have the whole thing taken apart in my garage awaiting new parts already. Can't wait to ride it!

·
Registered
1,221 Posts