Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First let me say hello all! :)

now to the problem I'm having. this is my first bike, and I was told of two minor problems.

1) bad neutral safety switch
2) bad brake light switch - front

It was 5 degrees outside, and the battery was low, so it turned over, but too weak to start. Now it's at my house in an 80 degree house, fully charged battery, gets fuel, and spark, but still does'nt start. The bike was winterizied, and tuned up and carbs cleaned. so with the info I've posted so far, what would you think may be wrong? I'm a bike newbie, so be easy please, thanks.

·
Registered
437 Posts
1) Did you have the bike in neutral and pull in the clutch anyway to start. Waitaminute, you have spark, so that neutral switch is not a problem. Forget that.

1a) Are you using the choke to start the bike?

1b) I would also say try fresh gas. I guess winterize means the gas was treated, but it's like a 1/2 gallon try, especially when you see what may be next.

2) What voltage does the battery read now. Also, if that is good (12.5VDC is near a minimum, maybe 12.3), need to see what the voltage is at the ignition coils, under the tank, when the switch is in the "on" position. That should solve the electrical side mostly: later we can go into seeing if the plug caps are weak.

Reasoning is: I just had a battery read fully charged by my battery tender, but my 2AMP charger would indicate a fail. This is right after I bought this battery, like out of the box. Sometimes it happens.

3) Have you had a compression check, and have you had the valves checked? These are the first mechanical things that I have seen to look at on a non runner. But you said it was tuned up, that is usually included in a good tune up. That is followed by the carbs, who cleaned them and how?