Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'M A NEWBIE AND I Just Got MY FIRST Bike, Pulled The Carbs Apart To Clean Them And 2 Of The Main Jets Were 105's And The Other 2 Were 108's. Are They Supposed To Be Like This??? Whats The Stock Size?? Which Of The 2 Would Be Best? My Bike Seems To Be Running Rich. Pulled The Pilot Valves Out; 3 Were Marked 85 And There Was 1 That Was Completely Different Than The Others, It Was So Banged Up I Couldn't Read Any Markings. Are They Supposed To Be 85's? Where Is The Easiest/cheapest Place To Get Parts?? Its A 1987 Ninja Zx600B AND HAS STOCK AIR FILTERS AND EXHAUST PLEASE HELP AND THANKS

·
Registered
175 Posts
Those are the right size main jets for this bike.The two on the outside are smaller than the two inside ones which have more heat to deal with.I think your pilot jets are 38s but you have to look real hard sometimes at the numbers.35 pilot jets are for Ca. model.If you have a Ca. bike the manual calls for 108 mains for all four carbs.Float height is 17mm for all models and fuel screws @ 2 turns out.Dealer or independent shop is the best and most economical place for jets @ 3.50-4.00 for mains and a little bit more for pilots.If your bike starts without using ANY choke your pilot jets are too big.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have a friend who has some size 100 main jets and 93 pilots . Would they work and if so would the fuel screw adjustment be the same? Would they make the bike run to lean? Do you know anything else that I should know? Sorry bout all the questions. But thanks

·
Registered
175 Posts
100 mains are too lean even with stock exhaust and airbox.Start with 105s on the outside and 108s on the inside carbs.On the pilots you can try 35s but 38s will probably be better.Start at 2 turns out on fuel screws.If your bike starts without the choke on with 38s go down to 35s.93s are waaaay too big.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6