Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Our 89 bayou 300 starts great, idles, but coughs, spits and backfires when you give it throttle over a fast idle. The carb seems to have some pressure blowing back out of it.

Here's the long saga.....
My son & I were given this 2x4 bayou and it had not run for some time, and the carb was in parts and it had no spark. I'm a fair mechanic, but have never worked on ATV's. We bought a Clymers manuel and after diagnosing the ignition module was bad replace it and got spark. We then throughly cleaned the fuel tank, tank shutoff valve, replaced gummy fuel hoses, added a fuel filter. Since the carb was in pieces when we got it, we compared all the pieces to the mauel diagram to check that no parts were missing. Then cleaned and reassembled the carb per the manuels diagram. I also filled the engine/transmission brim full of diesel, let it soak and then circulated it through a filter/pump to clean up and free any gumed up/stuck internals (this works excellent) We also checked the exhaust to be open, went over the wiring, and checked compression to be 130psi (marginal) .

The engine started and above fast idle coughed, backfired and seemed to be blowing back through the carb. Adjusting the carb needle seemed to have no effect of the rough running or even on the idle operation. The engine seems to be running very rich and smokes black when you give it throttle. After checking timing & several carb recleanings and float adjustments I gave in and took it to the local kawasaki shop. The shop put a new needle, seat and diaphram in the carb and it still ran the same, then they put a new carb on it and still no change. They finally told me it had a worn cam and I told them to remove the new carb and I picked it up.