Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to this so please be nice to me.

I have an 03 Mean Streak. I want to replace the stock air intake with either a Thunder kit or a K&N replacement filter.

After looking at my bike, it looks like there are 2 filters, one on each side. Does this mean I have to purchse 2 of what ever I decide? If not, how does it work and what would I need?

If I choose the K&N replacement, does is simply just replace the stock filter allowing me to continue to use the stock cover?

Thanks in advance. :lol:

·
Registered
91 Posts
Hi mad_professor,

Welcome to the Forum.

To start with your bikes stock set up from Kawasaki has been designed from great engineers with excellent performance. Altering items such as the air filter, air intake box, or exhaust will have an effect on engine performance.
Example:Add more air you could improve the exhaust flow to get a better benefit from increased in Air Flow.

As to your question:

Based on the Mean Streak being stock(no mods)
There is only 1 Air Filter. It is on the left side of the engine. You do not need to replace the stock cover to use a K&N Air Filter.

The problem is you will need to enrichen the fuel mixture.
The reason for this is the added air flow will create a leaner fuel mixture.
Kawasaki has the mixture already lean to keep emmisions low.
The engine will run hotter, perfomance will be off, and it's just not good for other internal parts of the engine.Since the engine is fuel injected you will have to install some brand of Digital Fuel Processor.
I know since I did just what you are about to do on my 04 Nomad FI.
The bike performed poorly!
I reinstalled the Stock Air Filter till I put in the Power Commander.

Some of the Digital Fuel Processor brands are Dyno Jets Power Commander III/usb
(which is what I use on my 04 Nomad FI),
Cobras TriPot 2000FI, and TFI to name a few.