Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys.I almost bought a Hyosung GT250R today but I decided to get the 2007 Ninja 250r.Hyosung definitely had me sold on the looks but their track record is not so good. I was hoping to hold out for the 08' but I just couldnt wait any longer.LOL
In any case I got a question about gear.I am new to riding so i wanted to get some opinions on what gear is the best.Dont really have the bucks right now for Shoie or Arie(?) What's best after that?Any input would be great.Thanks and safe riding!!!!

·
Premium Member
2,875 Posts
I think that there's a sticky pertaining to helmets and a couple of articles that were written on the subject in the Main Lobby. If you don't feel like reading an in depth, dry article about helmets, I'll give you the Cliff's Notes:

As long as the helmet is DOT approved, you're fine. After that, it's all up to what features you want and which helmet fits you best. Sure, some of the more expensive helmets (like my Shoei RF1000) might absorb a few more g's if your head hits the ground, but don't bank it. If it's DOT approved, you know that the helmet has passed some pretty strict gov't standards. Just try on a bunch of helmets before you buy.

Definitely get boots in addition to gloves and a jacket because that foot and ankle protection is a must. Pants will give you added protection, but they aren't as necessary as a jacket and gloves are.

If you're on a budget try looking at some of the heavy textile jackets. I found a nice TourMaster jacket for like $150 that has the typical armor, vents all over the place for the summer and a removable liner for the winter.

Like helmets, try on as many pairs of gloves and boots that you can and try on a lot of different jackets.

·
Registered
68 Posts