Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2002 KX 125 and it has about 20 hours on it. I do most my riding at about 4500 feet above sea level, average temperature is 80 to 85 degrees F. When I first got it, it ran like crud then I studied a little on the jetting topics and adjusted my jets I found that I had to keep dropping the jet sizes to get a good plug reading now that the plug looks good it has a problem when I go quickly from closed throttle to wide open it completly cuts out as long as I hold the throttle open. HMMMMM! It seems to run quit well except for that. I have also noticed if I go richer on the pilot jet it goes away but I end up with a black plug after a little bit of riding and it almost feels like it is starting to carbon foul(not as responsive). Currently I am running all stock except for #330 main jet, #40 pilot, stock needle on the leanest clip position, I mix my gas at 32:1. It almost seems to me that it is lean but the plug indicates good air/fuel mixture. Thus the confusion sets in. Anyway I was wondering if any one has tips on what the jetting should be at! Thanks,
Dan Dman

·
Registered
46 Posts
Sorry I can't figure out how to transfer the PDF file. But in my "HOW to TUNE my 500" thread, which is like 2 posts down from yours. There is a Team Green PDF file attatchment shifty sent me and the past 3 years are the same. Main jet is wide open problems. partial could be pilot jet and/or clip position. A main jet kit(5-6 jet sizes) is like $20+. The pilots are the expensive buggers. Good luck and run GOOD fuel and premix oil. Makes a big difference.

:)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
02'KX125 Motor cuts out when throtte is opened quickly