Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently picked up a 1977 Kawasaki KE175B, it hasn’t run for a while and knew I was taking on a project bike. I’m a rookie when it comes to mechanic work but I figured with the price I got on the bike that this would be a great opportunity to expand on my abilities while also restoring a classic.

Anyway, after cleaning the carburetor, replacing the spark plug, battery, ignition coil, and repairing the wiring according to the bike’s diagram, I have not been able to get this thing to start and run consistently. Early in the process I was able to get it started and it ran for about 6 seconds before it sputtered and died. I’ve tried using starter fluid, putting a lil gas in the cylinder, and even rolled it down a hill to attempt a clutch start like 5 times all with no success. I’ve tried adjusting the idle/air mix screw. I’ve checked the fuel drain diaphragm (which was pierced, I plugged the hole). Could it be that my timing is off? Or maybe my rotary valve is toast? My Clymer manual for the bike just doesn’t seem to have an answer for me so I’m hoping someone here might be able to help.

·
Registered
757 Posts