Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm new to the motorcycle scene and I just got the Ninja EX500 as my first bike.

I'm about 5'4 or 5'5, and weigh about 145 lbs.

My problem is I keep dropping the bike because it's so heavy when I come to a stop or when I push it in neutral, is this because I need to work out more?

Another issue I am having is my height. I can't really flat foot on the ground and I am on my tippy toes. I am considering lowering the bike a foot or so, if I do am I able to only lower the rear? Does it affect handling? Will it help me against dropping the bike?

Anyone have any links for some good and cheap lowering links for the Ninja EX500? And also some turn signal cases? I dropped my bike the first night at a stop sign and it broke my front turn signal cases, my friends said their just about $10

·
I miss you, Deron
19,783 Posts
I don't know that much about sportbikes, but I doubt you can lower it a foot!

Maybe you'd be better off with a cruiser, which you should easily be able to flatfoot.

·
Registered
264 Posts
I assume you are joking about a foot :) I am an OLD MAN :) but a little taller and slightly heavier and it fits me PERFECT, so if you lower both ends a little you will be good. Like NCDave said, once lowered it will be much easier. Tippy toes is not good. Especially for a beginner.

Have you taken the MSF class? If not SIGN UP NOW. Ask, and they will give you clues. Like do not stop the bike with the wheel turned.

There is a metal insert in the base of the turn stalk. If you remove that, it is said that it makes it harder to break the fairing if the bike falls. Replacing the fairing costs some bucks.

Beyond that... take it slow. Take your time so you can build some confidence. The 500 is an AWESOME little bike. I’ve had mine just over a year and 12,000 miles and I do not see me ever “outgrowing” the thing.

Enjoy!
Brian

·
Registered
30 Posts