Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So im looking to make some upgrades to my '99 ex500. Its my first bike so im not an expert at all when its come to this, cars are more my thing. But ive been looking at getting a 2-1 exhaust, k&n, stage 3 jet kit and new sprockets, clip-ons. First how hard is it to rejet the carbs? Also, what sprocket should i get to improve take-off? Any help, brands recommendations or info would be appreciated!!!!

thanks

·
Registered
456 Posts
You mentioned some good mods there. I've never needed to do a rejet, since I have my stock exhaust, so I can't comment on that. But as for the sprockets, I can give some advice. If you want faster takeoff, you need one or two of these things:
1. smaller front sprocket. This is cheaper than a rear sprocket, and easier to install. But it makes the chain turn a little tighter, which adds a little extra wear and tear to the chain. Most people will drop one tooth, and a few people will drop two teeth, but that's quite a bit.
2. larger rear sprocket. This is more expensive and a little harder to install. You might need a longer chain, depending on how big you make that sprocket. Most people will go up about 3 teeth or so in the back.

Changing your sprockets (smaller front or larger rear or both) will improve your first gear take-off. But there are three disadvantages. First of all, since first gear revs up faster, you'll hit redline faster. And that means you have to shift to second. So it's not really much better for first gear, since it makes first gear get used up so quickly.

Secondly, changing the sprockets this way also tightens up the gearing. So that means that you'll have to shift more often than you used to, because you'll reach sixth gear quicker. I think that's kind of a pain for city driving.

Thirdly, your highway RPM's will be higher. I think that's also a disadvantage on an already high-revving bike.