Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I was not alive in the 40s and 50s, I have no first hand experience with vintage bobbers, what I know is mainly from the Internet. From what I can piece together, bobbers have the fenders bobbed, extraneous parts stripped, solo seat, and no major modifications to the frame. Choppers have the frame modified (or chopped) perhaps to change the rake, as well as add things (sissy bar), remove things (fenders), or modify things (springer front, ape hangers, tank). And then there are cafe racers which look to be stripped down, low handlebars or clipons, custom tank. So my question is, the custom bikes I see now do not follow those rules (ape hangers on a bobber or a springer front end or even converting a softail into a hardtail) but people still call them bobbers. Help me out, ape hangers do not improve performance, in fact the opposite, and wouldn't be used in a race. Are there pictures of old bobbers with these mods?

·
Registered
407 Posts
Since I was not alive in the 40s and 50s, I have no first hand experience with vintage bobbers, what I know is mainly from the Internet. From what I can piece together, bobbers have the fenders bobbed, extraneous parts stripped, solo seat, and no major modifications to the frame. Choppers have the frame modified (or chopped) perhaps to change the rake, as well as add things (sissy bar), remove things (fenders), or modify things (springer front, ape hangers, tank). And then there are cafe racers which look to be stripped down, low handlebars or clipons, custom tank. So my question is, the custom bikes I see now do not follow those rules (ape hangers on a bobber or a springer front end or even converting a softail into a hardtail) but people still call them bobbers. Help me out, ape hangers do not improve performance, in fact the opposite, and wouldn't be used in a race. Are there pictures of old bobbers with these mods?