Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tried searching, must be the only one that needs to ask questions about this...

Goodridge braided. Couple of things...

1) On the junction box....do you use any teflon tape when putting the nipples into the junction box?
2) Can you twist the cables? The ends don't line up nearly where they need to be to match both the caliper and the junction box. Have to twist one of them about halfway around to get the upper part to screw into junction.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Does it have banjos at the end that can be loosened and rotated? I'm not an expert, but I do not know that a twist like that would be good?

Brian

·
Crazy Old Guy
1,189 Posts
You shouldn't have to use teflon tape on a brake line.

·
BACK ON TWO WHEELS
13,542 Posts
never use teflon tape with brake lines....

and go to Goodridge website for instructions on how to adjust (twist) cant remember, I have had HEL, Goodridge, Spangler and they are all a little diff

·
Army Strong. Ride Long
587 Posts
Yes, You can twist the ends. I had to do the same thing.
Take a wash cloth, fold it over a few times and wrap it around the knurled end that is on the hose at the base of the banjo. Take pretty stout pliers and hold the knurled end tight, but not so tight you crush it. You'll be able to tell.
Next, put a dowl (or I used a rubber coated screw driver) into the banjo and twist slowly but firmly in the direct you want to go. Move in small increments; go back and check the alignment. You can do this a few times without worry. Make sure you GO IN THE SAME DIRECTION. DO NOT REVERSE THE TWIST. That is what ruins the connection and causes leaks and a loose fit. It crucial you go slow and move in small amounts so you don't have to back it up because you over shot your alignment.
These are from a tech at Goodridge.

And like V2K said, no teflon.

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·