Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know the most important thing in buying a helmet is to initially disregard price and simply try as many as possible on to see what fits best and is most comfortable, but before I can actually get to a store I figured I'd do some poking around to get a direction to go in so I can be back out riding ASAP. I've read a lot of reviews on different brands, Shoei, Arai, HJC, Scorpion, etc., and have taken a liking to what Scorpion offers. I looked up sportbiketrackgear.com since I've seen others get great deals from there and saw they had some good closeout deals going on. I was first going to look at the EXO-400, but then saw they had some EXO-700s for very cheap too. Since I'm no helmet expert, I'm curious as to why there's such a difference between helmets of the same model? For example, one EXO-700 is going for $250, and another $108... is the only thing justifying this difference the paint work? It looks like all the features are the same...?

I meant for this thread to be for people who own or have owned Scorpion helmets to comment on their experience with them, but also wanted to throw in that question because it's baffling me.

Other recommendations for good quality but budget-conscious helmets are welcome too! Looking around the $100-200 range since I have to buy two - one for the wife as well.

·
Old Cruiser
58 Posts
Recently bought a full face modular helmet with dual visors from Leatherup.com for $109.00 plus $7.95 shipping. Helmet is made by Hawk, DOT approved, excellent fit, and real comfortable. Check it out!!

·
VN900
208 Posts