Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I’m new to the Kawasaki world but have owned one or more of each of the other Japanese competitors. I just bought this bike 2 days ago and have not ridden it since my test drive which went great. It ran good and drove nice and I was thrilled. It has been raining since the morning after I brought it home so it has just been sitting there till now when I decided to move it to another part of my yard by driving it and it just won’t go.

Details:
It has 15000+ miles and appears to be in very good condition. It starts and runs and revs great. It rolls fine in neutral or in gear with the clutch pulled in so I figure the drive shaft is ok but I don’t know much about how a motorcycle driveshaft works. When I put it in first gear and try to go it’s like the brakes are fully applied. I can’t get it to budge. As soon as I start to let out the clutch it just conks the engine no matter how gentle I try to be. If I rev it up to try harder it still conks immediately upon engaging the clutch.
I’m not sure if this matters but I can’t get it into second gear to see if it’s just a first gear problem. I read that it has a feature to stop me from putting it in second when not moving so I figure that’s what’s happening there, but please correct me if I’m wrong.

History between purchasing and bringing it home:
Could it have been caused from my trailer transportation? I must say I was a little worried because I trailered it home using a borrowed trailer that bounced constantly and erratically over every slight bump. So much so that inwardly I wondered how that might affect the bike. I figured if it causes any carb problems I could deal with that easily enough, but I never thought it could have caused transmission problems (if that’s what this is?).