Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, I just bought a '73 900 Z1. It cranks and turns over but won't keep running, I'm sure the carbs just need a good cleaning or maybe rebuilt, that's all good. The question is, and it may be a dumb one but hey I'm no mechanic, there is a fuel line coming out the bottom of each of the 4 carbs and just hanging off the side of the motor going to nothing. They are each about 18" long. should these be going to something or are they just overflows or something? The guy I got it from said that the last time he ran it, which was about a year ago, that it leaked gas from those fuel lines, does that tell me anything?

Oh, another thing, does anyone have any idea where I might be able to find a wiring diagram for this bike?

thanks for any help.

EDIT: I just noticed the mechanics forum, that would probably be a better place for this thread, so if you want to move it, by all means go for it.

·
Registered
191 Posts
needle

hey man, not a dumb question. you are exactly right, they are over flows. inside your float bowl you have the float which raises the needle. when the float bowl is fuel that needle should seat on the 'seat'. if not the bowl just keeps filling with fuel. to keep your bottom end of your motor from filling up there is a certain level inside the bowl that will just run right out of those hoses. You need to replace your needle/seat. if you go to the bike shop and ask for needle and seat they will know what you mean. the end of the needle is actually rubber. when they sit they get hard and dont seal well. im not sure how the seat comes out on your carbs. may ask a mechanic at the shop closest to you.

good luck

matt

·
Registered
4 Posts
carb kits

JEBarber, I recently purchased rebuild kits for my 74 Z1.
The dealer needed the number off the frame to get the correct kits.