Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I bought the bike and the guy delivered it dirty, said he didnt have time to clean it. Likely story. Anyway, it really needs a bath after being daily transportation for him. I've never washed a bike and was wondering if there are any specifics. I assume soap and water are safe for the plastics and not to wash it when it's hot. Anything particular for the seat? Wheels?

I'm still learning the drying method :D

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
re

on dirty stuff like that i use simple green,wet the bike down,spray on simple green,and rinse
works pretty good for most grime and is safe on plastics and rubber

best drying method is 80mph on a flat road :lol:

·
Registered
395 Posts
DON'T use a high pressure hose. I just run a light spray over mine, wipe it down using regular car wash soap, then rinse. Be careful of the disc brakes after you're done, until they are completely dry. After that i go over all the painted parts with an Armor-All car wash wipe. Picks up the water spots and leaves a nice shine.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey thanks guys. I'm a big fan of Simple Green. How about the front sprocket area...my bike is missing the cover and theres lots of grime and grease in there. Should it be cleaned or left alone?

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
re

just grease slung of the sprocket-get out the goop and get a new cover

it'll just get greasy again when you lube the chain :wink:

·
Registered
37 Posts
For the rims and spocks and sprockets I used hand cleaner. You would not believe how good it worked. The stuff I used was safe for all surfaces and good for your hands too. Here is some pictures to show you how well it cleaned off 27 years of goo from my vintage bike and the last pic is of the cleaner used for reference.