Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One thing I have noticed for myself is how much more I pay attention when I am on my bike or even in my car. This morning I was on my bike riding to work like normal and of course there is this merge lane that comes onto my lane I saw the car coming I knew just knew he wasn't going to look, stop, yield or nothing, so made my choice no on coming traffic and of course avoided him, Luckily I didn't have to take out any anger on him the car behind me had plenty to say to him as they came within inches of hitting each other. That MSF course is a life saver.

·
The Bassman Rocketh
25,244 Posts
I have also noticed I'm more aware of my surroundings while in the cage since I started riding. Good practice, on a subconscious level, I guess :)

·
Elmer
281 Posts
I continue to be amazed at how many merging drivers feel they have the right of way. As a matter of habbit their ignorance continues to force established traffic to either brake or change lanes and this becomes more than a simple inconvenience when there is no empty lane to move into or the driver behind you is not paying strict attention.

·
Registered
362 Posts
An experienced rider can read traffic and know what a driver is going to do before he/she does it. There are many signs and tells, and as a rule, bike riders are much better drivers, too.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I saw him coming and not slowing down, I knew he wasn't going to look not only for me or for the cars behind me. I had to make a quick choice I knew I had enough time to brake but too afraid that car behind me didn't, so no oncoming traffic I just went around and of course watched brakes lock up behind me as I am sure the two cars came within inches of colliding.

·
Registered
63 Posts