Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone.
I live up in Canada and winter is soon to come :( . Question is, it is my first year having my bike. I live in a condo, therefore I built myself a shed to put my bike in it for the summer (dont wanna get robbed!!). Anywho, now winter is coming. I dont have a garage. Should I find a garage to put it in or is the bike OK in the shed, even if it reaches -20 degrees celcius? Can my engine or any part of my bike get damaged if it is in the shed (no snow will touch it, it will stay dry) but it is really cold, below freezing. If any of you know....please let me know! Thanks!

Dave

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
Try and keep the tires off of the ground (prevent rot) drain the coolant system and make sure you put fresh oil in the bike. You don't have to put good oil, just cheapie stuff. Don't even change the oil filter.

When spring comes you'll need to check plenty of things, but you should be alright as long as you prep everything correctly.

·
Registered
456 Posts
Freakinout said:
Try and keep the tires off of the ground (prevent rot)
Yeah, that's a nice idea. But if you're planning to wear out your tires before they get a chance to rot, then I wouldn't worry about it.
Freakinout said:
drain the coolant system
Or change it with fresh 70% coolant/30% water. That ratio gives you the best freeze protection.
Freakinout said:
and make sure you put fresh oil in the bike.
Definitely do that. Used oil builds up acids that eat the metals of the engine. It's good to change the oil as part of your winterization. I think that if you change it in the fall, then there's no reason to change it in the spring.

Lube your chain so it doesn't rust.

And the most important thing of all: drain all the fuel (tank and carbs), or at least use Sta-bil.