Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok 97 1500 Classic. Long story short, I let it idle and about 30min. later I went out and there it was sittind on a puddle of steaming coolant, and adding more by the second coming out of rubber tube on the bottom of the bike. I am a noob to this Hobby/lifestyle, and even more so to the bike itself. Is this a real bad thing or is it somewhat normal?:cool:

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
It's not normal and it's not good. The fan should have turned on to prevent overheating. Leaving it idleing for 30 min. is not a good thing to do.
As I said, long story........I did not mean to do it, but it happened nonetheless, the fan did kick on, and was working, also I noticed the coolant light was NOT on, I was wondering if it is possible that there may have been to much coolant in the engine ro begin with? I did not appear to cause any problems, as the bik still runs as it did before this happened. Is there anyting that may have been damaged that I should check?

·
Test Pilot
2,916 Posts
Might want to check to see how tight those hose clamps are around your rad hoses. My old 800 decided to leak one day, and the fix was just to tighten down the hose clamps. Try to find out where the leak is coming from. If you can't, take it to a mechanic you trust and perhaps they could do a pressure test to see where the leak is coming from and then repair it. Hope it's not your rad that is blown. Oh and congrats on the new bike, and welcome to the forum.

·
Enjoy the journey!
1,306 Posts
SOunds like your cooling fan failed to kick in. If It had, you would have noticed. Alsoyou could have blown a cooling line. You did not say what the tempersture gaugewas indicating, but I hope you got it cooled down.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5